Rereeti - Revitalizing Museums

As the social media and outreach officer at Rereeti, I am always on the lookout for art and cultural experiences that will facilitate and further my understanding of how these are created, consumed and appropriated. In my first visit to New York recently, I had plotted a chunk of my gallivanting around several museums and art galleries for a peek into Western art spaces.

An exhibition of Kazuo & Fujiko Shiraga at the Fergus McCaffrey GalleryImage: An exhibition of Kazuo & Fujiko Shiraga at the Fergus McCaffrey Gallery, 514 W 26th St, New York.

I headed to Chelsea, a trendy suburb in New York City, known for its high-end and edgy, experimental and inclusive gallery spaces. What struck me immediately was the absolute minimalism around the design and display of the exhibit space: it’s sweeping, uncluttered, and expansive, almost to the point of displaying just two paintings on a large, white wall. It allowed the gaze to focus on the…

View original post 983 more words

